Though geographically distinct from Lanzarote, the Chinijo Archipelago pertains, administratively speaking, to Lanzarote, more precisely, to the municipality of Teguise. La Graciosa, Alegranza, Montana Clara, Roques del Este and Roques del Oeste form this archipelago, but La Graciosa, the largest of all, is the only one inhabited.

La Graciosa is often frequented by tourists visiting Lanzarote due to its fine sandy beaches: El Salado, El Caleton de Marrajo, La Cocina, Lambra, Las Conchas. Lineas Maritimas Romero and Biosfera Express are the main sea line companies making regular trips to La Graciosa. The entire archipelago has been declared a biosphere reserve, though its significance does not reside exclusively in the biological asset. The archipelago is also protected by force of its geological relevance.

Chinijo Archipelago
north of the island of Lanzarote, Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Go to top